Dasha Antardasha Software

Dasha Antardasha Software

Dasa Analysis

One unique feature of Vedic astrology is its concept of “dasa” systems. Dasa means “a period”. One’s lifetime is divided into several periods, sub-periods, sub-sub-periods and so on. These are ruled by different planets or rasis. Planets and rasis give their results in their respective periods and sub-periods. Each dasa system has a specific use. The nature of results given by planets and rasis in their respective periods and sub-periods depends on the dasa system being used. There are many classifications of dasa systems:

  1. Nakshatra dasas and Rasi dasas: Nakshatra dasas are based on Moon’s nakshatra  (constellation). Rasi dasas are based on rasis occupied by planets and dasas are owned by rasis in rasi dasas.
  2. Phalita dasas and Ayur dasas: Phalita means results and ayur means longevity. Phalita dasas are used for general results and ayur dasas are used for predicting death. Hundreds of dasa systems were enumerated by the seers of Vedic astrologey. Specific uses of these dasa systems weren’t clearly mentioned in classics. These are hidden in remote corners of India as family secrets.

In this part, the use of the following dasa systems is explained in detail:

Vimsottari dasa: Nakshatra dasa (phalita/ayur)

Ashtottari dasa: Nakshatra dasa (ayur/phalita)

Narayana dasa: Rasi dasa (phalita - general)

Lagna Kendradi


Rasi dasa: Rasi dasa (phalita – material fortune)

Sudasa: Rasi dasa (phalita – material fortune)

Drigdasa: Rasi dasa (phalita – spirituality)



Shoola dasa: Rasi dasa (ayur)

Shoola dasa: Rasi dasa (ayur)

Kalachakra dasa: Nakshatra dasa (phalita)


Vimsottari Dasa


Vimsottari dasa is the most popular dasa system among Vedic astrologers of today. Sage Parasara mentions in “Brihat Parasara Hora Sastram” that this dasa system is the most suitable dasa system in Kali yuga. Vimsottari means 120. Vimsottari dasa is a dasa system where the total duration of the dasa cycle is 120 years. Dasas of different planets are for different number of years, but the sum of all dasas is 120 years. In Kali yuga, paramaayush (maximum longevity) of human beings is supposed to be 120 years. Consequently, Vimsottari dasa is the most suitable dasa in Kali yuga. Dasas are reckoned here based on the constellation occupied by Moon. There are other variations that are more applicable in some cases. Many contemporary Vedic astrologers ignore these variations and always reckon dasas from the lord of the constellation occupied by Moon. However, this may not result in the best predictions

always. In this book, we will look at some of the variations. One’s life is divided into dasas – periods – ruled by the nine planets. A dasa is also called a “mahadasa” (mahadasa = master period). Each mahadasa is again divided into 9 sub-periods ruled by 9 planets. These sub-periods in mahadasas are called “antardasas”. We can divide further. Sub-periods in antardasas are called “pratyantardasas”. Sub-periods in pratyantardasas are called “sookshma-antardasas” or simply sookshma dasas. Sub-periods in sookshma dasas are called “pranaantardasas” or simply prana dasas. Sub-periods in prana dasas are called “dehaantardasas”.


Dasa Computation

The lengths of the dasas (periods) of various planets are given in Table 38. The order of dasas is also as indicated in that table. For example, let us say that the first dasa is Sun’s. It will be of 6 years. Then 10 years of Moon dasa will follow. Then 7 years of Mars dasa will follow. And so on. At the end of the table, we come back to the first entry. For example, let us say that the first dasa is of Jupiter. Then the order of dasas will be Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury, Ketu, Venus, Sun (go back), Moon, Mars and Rahu.


Vimsottari Dasa Lengths

Planet Dasa length (in years)






















In this manner, we can find the order of dasas and dasa lengths, given the first dasa.

For computing Vimsottari dasa, use the following steps:

(1) Find the constellation occupied by Moon.

(2) Find the advancement of Moon in the constellation.

(3) Find the part of the constellation that is yet to be traversed by Moon, as a fraction of the length of the constellation. [NOTE: Length of each constellation is 13°20'.]

(4) First dasa will belong to the lord of the constellation.

(5) Find the sequence of dasas and dasa lengths from above Table.


Antardasa Computation

Each mahadasa is divided into 9 antardasas. Take the planet ruling the mahadasa. 

First antardasa will belong to the same planet and antardasas go in the same sequence as dasas. The complete length of the mahadasa is ditributed among antardasas in the ratio of mahadasa years of planets.


For example, let us take Venus dasa of the native of Example 50. Venus dasa runs for 20 years. Antardasas in Venus dasa start from Venus and go in the order given in Table 38. So antardasa order in Venus dasa is — Venus, Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury and Ketu. Length of Venus antardasa is 20/120 of the total dasa length, i.e. 20x20/120 years = 3 years and 4 months. Length of Sun antardasa is 6/120 of the total dasa length, i.e. 20x6/120 years = 1 year. Length of Moon antardasa is 10/120 of the total dasa length, i.e. 20x10/120 years = 1 year and 8 months. Length of Mars antardasa is 7/120 of the total dasa length, i.e. 20x7/120

years = 1 year and 2 months. In this manner, we proportionally divide the period of a

mahadasa into 9 antardasas. We use the same procedure to divide each antardasa into 9 pratyantardasas, each pratyantardasa into 9 sookshma dasas and so on.

In the case of the first dasa, we don’t divide the remainder at birth (2.24875 years of Mars dasa remainder, for example, in Example 50) into 9 antardasas. Instead, we divide the complete duration of the first dasa (7 years of Mars dasa, for example, in Example 50) into 9 antardasas. So a few antardasas may be over before birth and only a few antardasas may be left at birth.

From now on, it will be assumed that the reader is familiar with the computations. If the reader does not have any software and needs to compute dasas by hand, he or she should practice with many charts.


Astrology Tutorial

Free Horoscope

Astrology Software

Vastu Software

Match Making or Kundli Milan

Share Market Predictions

Commodity Market Predictions

Currency Market Predictions

Lal Kitab Birth Predictions

Astrology Profession Software

Lal Kitab Astrology Software


Luck Changer Astrology Software

Cricket Predictions Software


Medical Astrology Software


Election Predictions Software

Matka Lotterty Predictions Software